EuroSDR Spatial Data Research



Recent Research


Working Groups


















EuroSDR archiving working group

Principal: Jonathan Holmes
Status: Ongoing

The group has published a third version of the paper “GI+100: Long term preservation of digital Geographic Information — 16 fundamental principles” as agreed by National Mapping Agencies and Archives for consultation with the NMA and Archive communities. Version three of the document is available here.

Presentation '16 principles paper'

Completed workshops:
1 . 17-18 November 2010, Southampton, UK
2. 14-15 March 2011, Munich, Germany
3. 14-15 September 2011, Berne, Switzerland
4. 15-16 March 2012, Ludwigsburg, Germany
5. 17-18 January 2013, Gävle, Sweden

Geographic data has been subject to archiving in the form of maps for centuries. National Archives in most countries have an interest in preserving information about geography. While the preservation and curation of paper maps is well understood and put into practise, archiving of geographic data in digital form is still in its infancy. Dependencies between datasets, complex data models, metadata, web service and a reliance on specialised software to retrieve and view historic datasets are topics that influence strategies, standards and technologies related to digital geographic data archiving.

This working group brings together Librarians, Archivists, Researchers and National Mapping Agencies (NMAs) to discuss digital archiving issues and publish a best practise guide for NMAs by the end of 2011.  This group works in close collaboration with the Open GeoSpatial Consortium’s Digital Preservation Domain Working Group,  with a focus on the needs of European NMAs.

This working group brings together Librarians, Archivists, Researchers and National Mapping Agencies (NMAs) to discuss and issue guidance on digital archiving issue. Current members include:

  • Marguérite Bos, Swiss Federal Archives (Schweizerisches Bundesarchiv BAR)
  • Alain Dupéret, Institut national de l’information géographique et forestière (IGN)
  • Urs Gerber, Swiss Federal Office of Topography (Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo)
  • Jonathan Holmes (Chair), Ordnance Survey UK
  • Sidsel Kvarteig, Norwegian Mapping Authority (Kartverket)
  • Michael Kirstein, Directorate-General of Archives Bavaria (Generaldirektion der Archive Bayerns)
  • Kai Naumann, State Archive (Landesarchiv) Baden-Württemberg
  • Lynne Ralsberg, Swedish Cadastral, Mapping and Land Registration Authority (Lantmäteriet)
  • Marja Rantala, National Land Survey of Finland (Maanmittauslaitos)
  • Göran Samuelsson, Mid Sweden University (Mittuniversitetet), Department of Information Technology and Media
  • Jenny Svennewall, Swedish Cadastral, Mapping and Land Registration Authority (Lantmäteriet)
  • Wolfgang Stößel, State Agency of Surveying and Geoinformation Bavaria (Landesamt für Vermessung und Geoinformation Bayern)


Additional Resources

Geographic Data

Special Aspects

Working Groups